Goodbye To You

My best friend is moving back to Russia. While (as you might suspect) I am less than happy about this, it gave me a chance to go home, visit my grandmothers, and get 90% of my name change done. We went to our old stomping ground: Caseys, home of the suntantini, cute 21-year-old servers, and the (now-replaced) London Broil.

I learned a lot, too. In no particular order:

  • Awkwardly charming (charmingly awkward?) is totally my type. Maybe that’s why PJ (and engineers in general) have always had a soft spot. Our server, while 21, was innocent, adorable, and hung out with us for most of lunch, since we were his only table. We hit on him, he flirted back, and we ended up with napkin roses, and a drive by the Wall, since he had no idea what it was. I miss being that capricious on a daily basis.

Awwwwww!

  • You can support something wholeheartedly and want the best for someone, and still hate it. Rationally and logically, it’s best for her to move. Irrationally and selfishly, I am going to sit, and pout, and cry, and you can judge me all you want.
  • It doesn’t matter how old you are, or how cute you are. If you smile, and you’re fun, I’ll like you. It doesn’t take a lot to make a positive first impression
  • I am all for slightly damaged goods. I likened a guy like that, to a great thing from Marshalls, or TJ Maxx. Some people don’t want “slightly damaged” or “less than perfect” goods, so they send them to TJ Maxx. You go there and pick it up at a huge discount, thinking “Oh, it’s from TJ Maxx, so meh” but then you realize you really have something amazingly special, and you were smart enough to look where no one else did.
  • Suntantini’s bring me back to college. I used to think nostalgia was bad – you can get stuck in it. Now I realize that a dose of it every now and again is healthy. As a side note, I need a “drink app” for my phone, that records my favorite drink recipes.
  • I love the concept of marriage, but I hate the words “husband,” “wife,” “Mrs.,” and “married. It makes me feel old and I’m only 26. I think about the people my age with two kids, and I don’t know how they do it. I think I’d be more open to the idea of all this if we had our own place.
  • I like flirting. I know I shouldn’t, but our policy is that it doesn’t matter where you get your appetite as long as you eat at home. That being said, I like being wingman best. I like being able to play Professions, talk up my friend, and the best part is that I’m married, so I don’t get stuck with the grenade. I was hoping our server was going to take my friend home – alas, his meek 21 year old mind wasn’t quite there.
  • Even with all the connectivity and technology we have, : email, skype, tv, phone….it doesn’t make up for actual physical closeness. Even if you only see each other three or four times per year, the idea that you CAN is just one of those comforting things that you can fall back on. I don’t like not having it.
I wish it didn’t have to be a goodbye, but otherwise, we had drinks, food, and a cute distraction. I can’t think of a more appropriate way to put our visits on hold.
One comment

  1. So, I just cried at this, esp the last bit, the physical closeness. You know I am gonna need a zillion hugs all the time!

Leave a Reply

