New Year’s Resolution: 2/12 Complete

Ok, I know I said one book per month. But I had started this a while back, and made it 1/4 of the way through. And it’s such a quick and easy read…I decided yesterday it should be my February book – until I finished it today. 

Life of Pi, by Yann Martel. 

Initially, I had heard about this book years ago. Then I vowed to read it some day. Then PJ started calling me “Pie,” as a nickname. Then it was being made into a movie. As a rule, I like to read the books before I see the movies – which is why I read the entire Twilight series (at some point right before the 4th movie came out), and the Hunger Games series (before I knew it was being made into a movie), and Harry Potter (though I read each of those as they were released). So why not? Now was my perfect chance to read this book. 

My first thought when I finished this book was, “How in the world did they make this a PG-13 movie? They must have gotten rid of a LOT of the graphic details that really convey the desolation and desperation of being stranded for 8 months on a lifeboat, with a tiger.” The book has graphic depictions of catching food, killing it, and eating it – the smells, the sounds…also what he does and does not try to eat, and how the sun and salt create wounds on his skin. I had to stop reading, or reread passages, to make sure he actually wrote what I just saw. 

It’s a fast and interesting read, and highly entertaining. I’d recommend it to anyone who wants to see the movie. I probably will download it when it is released on blu-ray, and now I can compare the two. I suspect, as usual, the book will be far better. 

6 comments

  1. I haven’t read the book yet…but the movie was well done.I left the theatre inspired but not filled with new life affirmations as I expected from the reviews I read. Maybe I’ll check out the book to compare =)

Leave a Reply

