Making the Grade

 

This was me this morning. Except instead of it being a white collarless shirt from Fred Segal, it was “my black shirt with white stripes on the top from China” and instead of my outfit being capable, it was “professional while still being stylish.” And instead of a driving test (because let’s be honest, I don’t fail tests, and I especially was not going to fail that one), it was “the meeting with the professor for grad school!” 

After work today, I have a meeting with a professor from RPI, where we will discuss my options in going back to school to get a Masters degree in Engineering. Yes, the social science emo chick, going back for a hard science. Will wonders never cease. Of course, the path I’d like to take has a minimum of 14 prerequisites, that include: 

  • Chemistry 
  • Physics
  • Calculus I
  • Calculus II
  • Multivariate Calculus
  • Linear Algebra
  • Differential Equations
  • Statics 
  • Dynamics 
  • Strength of Materials 
  • Fluid Mechanics 
  • Heat Transfer
  • Mechanisms 
  • Machine Design
  • Thermodynamics 
  • Thermodynamics II

And then I can start graduate courses. But you know what, even taking all of these prereqs sound exciting. And fun. And like getting back to what I really loved – learning. If I never got to grad school but did all of these courses, I might still be happy. I don’t know, but I definitely used to thrive on the pressure of homework and tests and papers…and this is something for myself, and no one else.

While the professor originally suggested an easier path to a masters, I might see what he says given my ambition to actually have a useful degree. Not that I don’t love my other two, I just need something a bit more concrete, and applicable. Wish me luck!

One comment

Leave a Reply

