I <3 NY! Part Two: Queens

After my jaunt in Brooklyn, RJ and I headed to Queens for some good dim sum at the Good Kitchen Seafood Restaurant. Don’t let the name fool you – it’s not just seafood. It’s a traditional dim sum place where they wheel around carts, everyone is yelling in Cantonese, and you will eat till you can’t move (really – I couldn’t move). I don’t speak Cantonese, so it’s a good thing RJ’s dad’s friend owns this place, and RJ speaks it like a boss. We ordered what felt like several hundred dishes, and the bill came to about $40. Sure, sounds like a lot for lunch, but the actual size of the dim sum itself was so big, we barely finished everything.

As things come out in waves with the carts, I didn’t take any pictures – it’s very different from my typical dim sum experiences, where we order 15 dishes that all come out at once….I will say that I got way more full when they came out in waves, rather than all at once – so it’s a good thing that Part Three involves 27104153612084 miles of walking. 

In case you are unfamiliar with dim sum, this is what it typically looks like:

These photos are from a place in New Haven, but generally they are more or less the same. I like to think of them as a Chinese version of tapas. Small plates, a few of each, and you can try them all. 

The trip into Queens was short-lived, but my little friend Francois the Panda had a little adventure with a Great Stone Dragon – something he probably won’t be doing again any time soon.

Part Three to come!

4 comments

  1. How come we’ve never gone for dim sum together? This needs to be fixed pronto.

    Did you explore any Queens neighborhoods? Astoria can be fun (says a Manhattanite).

    1. I think perhaps we were always concerned with Bud Light and AYCE Sushi. And burgers. And double breaded chicken.

      We were literally in Queens for dim sum only, but I do need to head back to Manhattan, so maybe I’ll make a stopover and explore a bit. Any recommendations?

      1. Austin Street inn Forest Hills is a lot of fun for shopping and dining, it’s sort of The Village of Queens. And Astoria is a go-to place for beer gardens.

Leave a Reply

