Bass Rock

I used to be a model. No, really. For reals.

In the past, and ever since I’ve been on a mild fitness kick, I’ve been happy to play along with photo shoots. So when I had to return home to Rhode Island this past weekend for Easter, there was opportunity, and I took it. I’d love to be able to get back into amateur modeling – my professional Lego model days are long gone – but I have fun on shoots, take direction well (“You’re a monkey Derek!”), and have learned enough from Tyra about makeup and posture….but mostly, I enjoy the locations.

Part of my model fantasy involves – aside from being super tall, thin, and getting free clothes – traveling to exotic locations and meandering down streets and around bazaars and street markets, while subtly posing as a photographer follows me down the street. Now, I know that’s not really what happens (seriously, the shoe ad I shot on a beach when I was 8 was a freezing cold, grey day with a little rain and crazy wind in the air….but when it was done it looked like summer rain and 95 degrees and sunny), but in my imagination, I imagine getting to travel to far off and secret locations, and generally broadening my international horizons.

Unfortunately, the market for an athletic-looking, nearly 30-year-old 5′ Asian model is slim. Very slim. No exotic locales for me. Instead, I am relegated to finding scenery where I can, which brings me to my latest photo shoot: These were shot on Bass Rock in Narragansett, Rhode Island. A hop, skip, and jump from my parents’ house, and really somewhere I’ve gone hundreds of times over the course of my Rhode Island life – but never really took the time (or a nice camera) to appreciate.

4 comments

  1. You take lemons and make lemonade, lemon martini, lemon chicken and lemon meringue pie. Photos are gorgeous as always, as is the model in them 😉

    1. Awwww, thank you 🙂 I’ll make you all of those when you come visit next!

      And according to my momma, no one takes better pics than you do 🙂

    1. Wow! Thank you so much! 🙂

      From your user handle, I’d guess you like a good bargain, so I’ll tell you a secret: They’re from Payless. 😛

Leave a Reply

