Do You Know What Fate Is?

For the last six weeks or so, I have been doing a lot of traveling. Such is the life of an amateur racing driver – we get up at the asscrack of dawn, and get in a car to travel hundreds of miles to….sit in a car, and race it for as little time as possible (ironic, isn’t it?). It’s a 5am-to-10pm-every-day activity, and then we get back in the car and drive hours to get home, just to go to work on Monday morning. Yes, autocross is not for the faint of heart.

Don’t mistake this for complaining – I truly love my hobby, because of some of the simple pleasures it affords me. It’s quiet and peaceful on the roads at 4 am, and I’ve been able to see the sun rise and set over some of the most beautiful and underrated sights in the eastern half of the United States.

While driving to an event earlier this year, I realized that we cross a lot of bridges. In three weeks, I’ve crossed so many bridges that it took me a while to realize that they aren’t just ways to traverse over a body of water. They’re actually architectural works of art.

The Tappan Zee bridge is the preferred way of getting from Jersey to Connecticut after an event. It’s sometimes raining, and always bumpy, and the reports from civil engineers regarding the structural integrity of the bridge can be somewhat disconcerting sometimes. But, if you’re lucky, you can see the sunrise, and that’s good enough for me.

Another sunrise over the Delaware Memorial. The toll for this bridge, with a truck and trailer, is $10. There’s always traffic (probably because of when we reach this particular part of the trek), and sometimes, when you’re teetering between two giant semis, with your baby on a trailer behind you, it can get a bit worrisome. But traversing this particular span brings me to the (usually) first event of the Pro Solo Season, and is never a bad time.

The George Washington Bridge and I have a love-hate relationship. At 4am, it’s not so bad, especially since they’ve paved some of the road leading up to it. But normally it’s congested, full of construction, NY-bound drivers are insane, and I am not always sure if we’ll make it to the left lanes to go on the “trucks allowed” lower level – it’s a huge gamble and a lot of chance. Most people don’t like slowing down to allow a 30′ long truck and trailer to drive in front of them. I usually try to avoid the GW at all costs, but it’s the fastest and most direct route to the Metlife Stadium Complex. Despite all the pitfalls, every time I go over this bridge, I know I’m that much closer to something I love.

 

5 comments

  1. I remember that clip! And several other ones from this movie…
    I think the way you feel about bridges is the way I feel about taxi rides to an airport.

Leave a Reply

