¡Viva España! El Cuarto Día: Toledo, Part 4 – Me Gustan Las Puertas

I feel very adventurous. There are so many doors to be opened, and I’m not afraid to look behind them.

I love doors.  Windows, and doors.  Toledo, being an old city, has many, and when closed, can only spark your imagination as to what is behind them.

There were large doors, and small ones (to be known herein as Jenna-sized).  Heavy ones with sharp decorations, light ones that swung in the breeze.  There were ornate ones that were works of art in their own right, and ones that blended into the wall.  

Of course, I was awfully fond of the Jenna-sized ones.  If only more people subscribed to making things me-sized, I’d be able to do so much more.  Like drive a Miata, or use the top shelves in my kitchen….

IMG_20140703_093843Alas, I fear the push for making things for those of us that are 5′ on a very good day has fallen on deaf ears.  Or perhaps people have gotten so tall over the past 600 years, that they just can’t hear us down here anymore. 

Even if the tops of them stretch feet above my head, I still love doors.  Here is a sample of some of the many entryways we came across in our 12+ mile walk.

And of course, one of the most elaborate and beautiful one for last:

IMG_20140703_102137

2 comments

  1. SUCH a cool slideshow. I cant believe people basically still pooped all around their houses and undergarments, but were making these kinds of masterpieces.

    1. Just goes to show that you don’t need indoor plumbing to create something magnificent and lasting. “Even geniuses pooped their pants?”

Leave a Reply

