¡Viva España! La Comida, Parte Uno

And now, the entry series you’ve all been waiting for…..the food.

To be honest, I didn’t get to sample as much food as I had hoped – I don’t generally eat a ton, and I wanted to buy stuff for other people, not to fill my belly.  I fully intend to forego the calorie counting and penny pinching the next time I’m there, and eat till I can’t walk anymore.  (But who am I kidding?  I’m going to walk it all off anyway….)

I didn’t eat my first Spanish meal until nearly 11pm on my first day there, which felt more like 5am to my poor, confused, tired stomach (but oddly, I was wide awake).  I was wandering around in the dark, and realized I hadn’t eaten in two days, with the time difference.  Sadly, all the tapas places were full, so I kept wandering until I found a hole-in-the-wall Mexican place (literally – I wouldn’t have noticed it between the two GIANT walls). I told the waiter (an Indian guy that spoke decent English) that I wanted a beer, and whatever he recommended to eat because I was starving.  He said, “The tacos are really good.  Three tacos will be enough?”  I must have given him a Look, because he quickly said, “Okay, okay.  Six.”  He brought out a teeny ramekin of watery salsa, and a handful of chips while I was waiting and contemplating my order.

While six initially sounded like a lot of tacos, I realized quickly I probably should have ordered nine…or even twelve.  The tortillas were roughly 4″ across (and I dislike tortillas anyway), and there was barely half a cup of carnitas.  My Mahou was also mini.  Being American, we have our big 16-oz pints.  This glass was a 6oz glass, and because it was a draft beer, I only got one >.< Sigh.  European portions.

On the way there, I had passed several fruit and convenience stands, so I figured I might make use of my lovely patio in my apartment the next morning, and eat a healthy breakfast of fresh fruit and juice in the warm sunshine of late Spring in Madrid.  We all now know that I picked the coldest week in May to go to Spain, but I got the fruit and juice anyway.  I ate it inside, on my counter, wrapped in a blanket.

IMG_20140521_061301938On Tuesday, I went to buy some clothing in the shopping area, and needed to eat.  But because I was ready for brunch at around 4pm, when everyone seems to close for siesta, I found the nearest place with an open kitchen.  I sat down and told the waiter (another Indian who spoke great English – what the hell?) that I was starving and to bring me his few favorite dishes, but I also wanted a salad and a glass of rioja (okay, two).

I got a free dish of paella, which was nice, and I was so hungry I even ate the crust off the bread (it was soft and boring).  But then the tapas started coming out, and I was instantly glad the bread was soft and could absorb all the amazing spices and sauces.  I was so hungry at first, I almost managed to miss the decor – the entire place was filled with bullfighting memorabilia.

The six drunk, red-faced older gentlemen tried to hit on me in Spanish, and when I responded with “No puedo hablar muy bien,” they laughed and raised their glasses.  I figured anyone that jovial at 5pm on a Tuesday must be doing something right., and so I joined them in a cross-table toast:  “Por España!”

15 comments

      1. That was the one that caught my eye too! Looks delicious! It would probably be easier to go to Madrid and get them than go to IKEA 😉
        And afternoon drinking rocks 🙂

  1. Hahaha, but Ikea meatballs are like a reward for navigating the floorplan. Good girl, you found your way to the cafeteria! 🙂

    Afternoon drinking…night drinking….morning drinking….it’s all the same! Delicious!

  2. You’re right about the portion sizes, but it’s not really a “European” thing. In Germany and the UK, the portions are much larger. And so are the people. A coincidence? I think not… 😉

    1. They should offer the option to “American-size” your meal!

      I probably could have ordered another round of food, but the guy looked at me like I was mad.

Leave a Reply

