Hop, Skip, and a Yelp!

Sometime back in 2011, I used to have this friend named Geoff (check out his photography site!).  He worked at Reuters, and therefore was able to eat his way through Manhattan.  I don’t remember why, but he encouraged me to start reviewing places on Yelp, and so I did, and after just a short few months, I was nominated to be Yelp Elite.

yelpelitebadge

Somehow, four years later, I’m still at it, and still Elite, which basically means I eat out at random places and end up reviewing them, and I get invited to some kickass events.  It’s been so long since I’ve been able to drink wine that’s been properly paired with food, I could have stayed there if the snacks kept coming.

Most events have great booze – this had local vodka and tequila with local-made mixers.  Let’s be honest – there was a margarita and a cosmo stand.  I barely needed the wine!  The vodka was better than the tequila, but the margarita was better than the cosmo .

17228953646_34d143ec9b_k

IMG_20150424_105328

And there was wine.  Seven different types, to be exact.  And they were all fairly good, even the sweet bubbly ones.  But before there was wine, there was FOOD.  And oh, the food!

17254380611_380dc7a8ea_k

17228956286_98f43c3819_k

Manchego cheese with quince paste and an almond.

17047504897_66cdded045_k

Hot sweet peppers with goat cheese – a weakness!

IMG_20150424_105209

They were small, but they were amazingly delicious. And I don’t even really like macarons!


Anyone want to be my +1 next time?

20 comments

      1. Can’t wait to read 🙂 Some day I’ll go to one of these mythical alcohol festivals, and then I will be thankful for phones and cameras to piece together the day…

      2. I cannot remember the last time I got so drunk I threw up. I think I’m getting old. Or I was so drunk, I don’t remember 🙂

Leave a Reply

