Life is a Highway, Part 8: Word Crimes

So….I might be a bit of a stickler about grammar.  This song might have been written for me.

IMG_20150109_092833….ok so I might be a bit more than a stickler.  The conversation above is one that bothers me immensely: less vs. fewer.  (But I still love the person in question – she rarely makes that mistake, anyway.)  I correct it so often, I do it without thinking.  And when it popped up in a recent Game of Thrones episode, I received a flurry of texts and IMs.

I realize that not everyone is as passionate about this as I am.  Maybe it’s because I read so much.  Maybe it’s because I think words are incredibly powerful – especially when they are constructed with impeccable syntax.  Or maybe it’s because I have nothing better with which to fill my time?  Either way, poor grammar is a pet peeve of mine, and it bothers me most when I see it in signs for public consumption.

On this road trip, on the 2459 miles driven, I saw enough of it to drive me batty.  Much of it was contained to what I can only assume were low-wage workers with no fucks given.  But seriously.  Grammar abusers are EVERYWHERE.

IMG_20150506_114602

IMG_20150506_101148522

IMG_20150507_082124562

Ignorance breeds ignorance, and believe you me.  There’s more than enough to go around.  But I also realized that there are still a few strong grammar vigilantes left in the world.  Those of us still fighting the Good Fight.  Those that immediately say “fewer” without thinking, when someone around us says “less.”  The accidental proofreader, that edits documents and make corrective notes in the margins without being asked.  The silent educator, that take it upon himself to correct public signs anonymously.

IMG_20150504_113746202

Here’s to you, my fellow grammar buddies.  You know the importance of an Oxford comma, the dire consequences of improper diction, and the delicate constructs of using a semicolon.  Grammar buddies, I salute you.

6 comments

      1. Ha, honestly, it wasn’t me! But when I saw it, I did get a little excited that I wasn’t the only one that would be bothered by the missing O.

  1. I love this post with every fiber of my grammar-Nazi being. Some of my nightmares involve looking at past blog posts and realizing I had a spelling or grammar mistake. #truestory

    1. Haha, I have done that, and edited them for grammar only! One of the best short books I’ve ever read was Eats Shoots & Leaves 🙂 And I am so very happy to know there are other grammar-Nazis out there, correcting one bathroom sign at a time 🙂

Leave a Reply

