Life is a Highway, Part 11: Huckleberry Finn

My West Coast friends love these things.

According to Wikipedia, a huckleberry is the state fruit of Idaho.  It sort of looks like a blueberry, and is a little bitter.  It will also stain your clothes.  I had been a bit excited to try it, and I have to say it was….interesting.  Bitter, lemony, oddly sweet….very interesting.  And the West Coasters LOVE them.  Like really, really love them.

IMG_20150506_105916871_HDR

This was a weird milk chocolate truffle cordial thing. It was….fine.

IMG_20150505_151751826_HDR

Honestly, I will probably stick to raspberries, strawberries, and blueberries, but at least now I can say I’ve tried huckleberries. I’m sure my three-hour jaunt through Idaho would have been incomplete without them.

2 comments

    1. Ehhh, It was bitter. And not in a good way. It works as a compote or a chutney, I think, but in something sweet (like that weird chocolate cordial) it was a bit odd.

Leave a Reply

