Life is a Highway, Part 13: Zion National Park

Guess what.  Everything in Utah closes at 8pm.  The one restaurant that I literally ran to, that said it was open till 9:30, was closed at 8:45.  Yet another reason I could not live in this state. If I can’t get dinner at 9 pm on a weeknight…

I awoke the next morning after an unfulfilling dinner of Triscuits, Kind bars, and grapes, and got on the road to Zion.  Now, I’ve never been to the desert, never been in the southwest (I do not count my single trip to the Grand Canyon at age 2), and I figured it would be very Lawrence of Arabia.

Image from saharatravel.net

Image from saharatravel.net

Here’s a pro tip:  it isn’t like that at all.  Aside from it being hot, and a bit sandy, it wasn’t like that at all.  It was in the mid-70’s, but it was green, with flowers, waterfalls, and gorgeous rock/wind formations.

IMG_20150506_162148193

Image from zionponderosa.com

Image from zionponderosa.com

With time for only one real hike, I opted for the Hidden Canyon trail, described as a 3-hour, 2.4 mile “strenuous” hike with “long drop-offs.  Not for anyone fearful of heights.  Follows along a cliff face to the mouth of a narrow canyon.” Perfect, I thought, and I got on the shuttle to the trail and set off.

Strenuous?  Yeah, a bit.  Scrambling, climbing, and it was HOT.  But there was something about climbing 800 feet in the first mile, something exhilarating and exhausting that made it very rewarding.  When you’re scaling rocks on a 6-inch-wide, well-worn, weathered ledge and you’re holding on for dear life, you start to feel very free.

IMG_2567 IMG_2569 IMG_2573

Eventually, I reached the hidden canyon.  Lovely, just as expected, but I wasn’t tired yet, and wanted to explore a bit more.  Of course, the beauty of these trails is that depending on your level of physical fitness and sense of adventure, you can keep going when you run into signs like this one:

Image from tripadvisor.com

Image from tripadvisor.com

As a runner, I figured it would be ok, and I asked myself, “Really, how hard could this be?”  After all, they rate the trails harder than they actually are, to discourage those that are not fit enough, so this is probably no sweat….

I was wrong….but it was so worth it.

IMG_2575

IMG_20150506_144319828 IMG_20150506_144529531 IMG_20150506_144904628-PANO

At maybe 0.75 miles past the sign, I had to turn back.  I would have kept going, but I didn’t want to end up lost and out of time.  I turned back – and saw new things upon descent.  Sometimes you have to look back from whence you came to see where you might be going.  And let me tell you.  The view was magnificent.

IMG_20150506_141051061

IMG_20150506_150732754

IMG_20150510_175531

On the way down, I took a detour to the Weeping Rock.  When water soaks into the rocks, it keeps traveling downwards through the rock itself until it reaches an impenetrable layer.  It then travels horizontally, until it makes it to the side, and “weeps” out.  It was beautiful, and made me forget for a minute that I was in the desert.

IMG_20150510_175801

IMG_20150506_140220936-PANO

Leaving Zion was a sad moment – until I got to the road.  It was winding, twisting, and driving out of the park, I felt like I was truly part of something bigger; something really special.  For the first time in a long time, I felt content and happy, and even though I was hot, sweaty, and exhausted, I was ready for my next adventure.

Zion 1 - V







13 comments

  1. Gorgeous photos! I’d be worried that I’d feel a bit too ‘free’ in situations like that and wet myself 😉 Also love this – Sometimes you have to look back from whence you came to see where you might be going. And let me tell you. The view was magnificent. – You’re quite the philosopher 😉

    1. Being that high up, precariously perched on ledges and looking over gave me quite the perspective on life – both literally and figuratively 🙂

      I’m only a philosopher because I’ve not had my daily dose of wine yet 😛

      1. Me neither but it’s on the way 🙂 Off to a ‘Bier trinken und Deutsch sprechen’ evening – but you can sub Wein for Bier in my case 🙂

  2. OMG. Those trails are INSANE. I am salivating at the prospect of hiking those and also feel like a moron for not taking advantage of these kinds of travel ops while I was still living in the States.

    1. Something tells me you might not have liked them as much – lack of indoor plumbing and all 😛 Honestly, I’m glad I was in the shape I’m in because they were pretty cardio-intense. I don’t hike slow 🙂

      1. Um, I spent 2 weeks hiking in Montana, Wyoming and Yosemite! And survived and then some 😛 (and loved it). I was NOT in shape, which is probably why I lost 10 lbs in 2 weeks :))))

      2. I didn’t say you couldn’t do it…I just said I hike fast, and had I not been in good shape I would not have been able to do those levels of trail – nor would I have been able to adapt to the elevation change as easily.

      3. It helps when you have a 6-pack (yes, of beer) with you. That’s how I hiked that stupid (and gorgeous) waterfall in Yosemite. I essentially followed the beer my mom was carrying… like Roquefort in Chip & Dale Rescue Rangers.

Leave a Reply

