It’s Not You, It’s Me

Dear Baby G,

This is one of the hardest things I’ve had to write in a long time.  Eight years ago, I never thought this day would come, but sadly, it has.  It breaks my heart to say it, but…I’m sorry.  It’s over.

I know you’ll say we were such a great team for so long, and you’ll try to remind me of all the good times – yes, the time we met was one of the most important moments of my life.  The minute I saw you, I knew that you were the one for me.  You were young – younger than any that had come before you, and though you’d had a bit of a rough history, I was certain we’d last forever.

I remember the time that we went to the race event – you totally saved the day.  Heat stroke and sun poisoning were running rampant, and if it weren’t for you, so many more of us would have gotten sick.  You kept us cool, got us ice, and allowed us to relax.  You always seemed to save the day.

But as the years went on, no matter how much I loved you, I saw that you were getting tired of this.  You were starting to act like our adventures together were a chore.  Yes, I admit we had moments where I should have been more proactive and preemptive – I never meant for that guy to hurt you.  It was a bad moment in both of our lives, and I’m sorry.  But I tried to take care of you after that and make it up to you – and instead of forgiving me, you have tried to make me pay for it ever since.

I know there’s the theory that the squeaky wheel gets the oil, but all you do is tell me that you’re upset.  I can’t figure out why, and I’ve exhausted every option I can think of.  And yet you still complain, still whine, still grind my gears about something that you won’t fill me in on.  And that’s not fair.  I’ve spent countless hours and countless dollars trying to fix whatever it is that’s ailing you, and yet you’re having none of it.  This is exhausting, and no matter what I do or hope for, it seems as though you won’t change.  You won’t ever change.  It’s just not who you are, and this will be a part of you forever.

While you and I have had a good time together, and I hoped it would last forever, but it just can’t.  I don’t know that you can be what I need now, and based on the way you care for yourself, it’s clear you don’t love yourself anymore.  How do you expect me to love you, then?

Of course, I do, and I always will.  But I think the time has come for us to go our separate ways.  You knew this day would come, months ago, and despite my best efforts to salvage our relationship, they’ve failed.  I’m sorry.  This is really for the best – for both of us.

I’ll always love you and remember you fondly, and I hope you find happiness with someone else.

Take care of yourself, Baby G.  I’ll miss you.

7304809121_245274418_IM1_MAIN_565x4

7304809122_245274418_IM1_02_565x421


5 comments

      1. Well, ok so Baby G is a girl, but seeing as we were in a long term relationship, does that make me a lesbian? And the guy in question was a douchey Canadian, hit and run.

Leave a Reply

