Life is a Highway, Part 17: Canyonlands National Park

Moab is pretty cool.  No, really.  It’s a bit touristy, but it’s got some decent food, decent beer, and it’s fairly young and active.

The other nice thing is that it’s positioned close to two gorgeous national parks:  Canyonlands and Arches.  I would be spending two days there, and the first was dedicated to Canyonlands.

If you remember the story of “that dude that went hiking alone, and fell and got trapped, and he had to drink his own urine and saw his arm off and now James Franco played him in that movie that was nominated for some awards,”  well, that happened in this park.  Not that I saw the movie, but I knew this place got a lot of attention after it came out.

I was getting a bit more excited because this was going to be the first real park where I got to start the day early and hike till my heart’s content.  I chose a trail that would lead me up and around, and to a canyon rim.  And the view was totally worth it.  Of course, the first thing I noticed was the road….

IMG_20150507_131203712_HDRWhile this wasn’t a terribly strenuous hike, it was pretty hot out on ground level.  But once I got some elevation, there was a whipping wind that I thought might actually blow me off the cliff.  I managed to stand my ground, however, and ended up staring out into the great beyond.  There are a few entrances into the park (something I realized too late), and I ended up at Island in the Sky.  I planned a few trips – I have all day, might as well use it – Upheaval Dome, Whale Rock, the overlooks.

Island-in-the-sky-map

The overlooks had, by far, the most breathtaking view.  There’s just so much to take in, and it really does look like an island in the sky.

IMG_20150507_141821973-PANO

IMG_20150507_171855739-PANO

I explored the Upheaval Dome, a crater made from meteor impact around 170 million years ago.  The curious bit is that there are green points in the middle – there are two theories of how it was formed.  One is that it’s a salt dome, and the other is that it’s an eroded impact crater.  I like to think it’s baby mountains or something.

IMG_20150507_160648498_HDR-PANO

I don’t have any photos of Whale Rock, and it’s because I took a lovely tumble down it.  Balancing with camera in one hand, water bottle in the other, and quickly becoming aware of an issue with the joints in my toes in my left foot (as in, with too much strenuous impact they swell to the size of kumquats and make it impossible to walk comfortably), I stumbled, fell, and was mortified.  I tore my jeans and skinned my knee so deep, it ripped through scar tissue I’ve had since 2004, it didn’t heal for almost a month, and I will probably have a scar forever.  The two Italian tourists (both a good deal older than I, and gracefully jaunting down the path) were amused at the little round Asian chick tumbling down the rocks like a tumbleweed.

Anyway, following that, I was a bit less enthused to go scrambling and running down the rocks.  What can I say – blood, torn jeans, and general embarrassment at my inability to walk properly sort of dented my confidence.  Instead, I decided to make use of my small stature and climb into places normal-sized people couldn’t fit.

IMG_20150510_094216

IMG_20150507_172829027_HDR

Check out my ripped jeans. I’m so rugged 😛

IMG_20150510_094637

The canyon rim walk to end my day here was probably one of the best, and most wonderful walks and moments of my life.  Slightly over a mile long, the views were spectacular, and because it was late in the day (6-7pm?) the sun was starting to go down, and the trail was all but deserted.  It’s interesting – I was forced to go slow because of my (still bleeding) knee, and I was able to really get up close and personal with some of the rock formations.  It’s amazing what the elements can do.  I have to admit, I didn’t notice some of the things at first, and it was only on the way back.  I guess what they say is true:  Hindsight really is 20/20.

IMG_20150507_173442873-PANO

When I reached the end of the trail, there was a large flat rock, and I just lay down and took in the vast landscape.  It was the closest to zen meditation I’ve ever gotten, and when I finally opened my eyes, I felt very at peace.  There’s something about being out there, something about being so small, that really makes you realize what’s important and what isn’t, and in that moment, I felt very grateful and lucky.

IMG_20150507_124932470-PANO

IMG_20150507_175411923-PANO

16 comments

  1. AAAARGGGHHH such great photos – AGAIN! Total travel envy.
    But you know what I think of every time I see a slope like in the top photo? How much I want to just slide down on my butt to the bottom of it, instead of walking the serpentine! I know it’s probably totally unsafe and a bit insane, but it looks like such a butt-sliding slope.

    1. Ok, that’s not a slope, that’s a ROAD. And quite frankly, I’d be afraid you would act like a blind Andretti.

      Going through all these photos now, months later, I’m like “I cannot believe I saw all that stuff, I can’t believe it was real.”

      1. no no no… I wouldnt slide down the ROAD, I would slide in a straight line top to bottom, ACROSS the road (multiple crossings, obvs).

      2. Haha, ok, you do that, but I’m not patching up your bum when you get to the bottom!

        Honestly, after my fall, walking was scary enough.

  2. Stunning photos, Jenna! You really do get around 🙂 Hope your knee has healed up a bit! I usually have scrapes and bruises on my knees too but for different reasons 🙂

      1. She’s got whisky to drown that out 🙂 Or maybe they’re like “Eh, the girl is an adult. With adult language and adult jobs and adult interests and sense of humor.” At least that’s what I hope for….:P

Leave a Reply

