Life is a Highway, Part 20: Fantastic Foods

Part of what makes travel so awesome is the opportunity to eat new foods.  Sadly, on a road trip, most of the food consists of quick meals eaten on the run – but sometimes you do get some gems.  From Denver, through Wyoming, passing through Idaho, a long few days through Utah, and back to Denver, I had some pretty good dishes.  One was so good, I’ve since made it at home – the legendary croissaffles.

While I did start my trip off with some sushi, I had everything from burgers, to sandwiches, to steak tips, and the occasional dinner of bottled water/granola bars (or even fast food).  And it’s those makeshift meals, searching for a good place to eat, that make the whole trip worth it.  And now, for your gastronomic pleasure, I present my favorite foods.

2015-05-01

Because really, how can you go wrong?

IMG_20150502_125423293

OH MY GOSH CROISSAFFLES! I haven’t been able to duplicate the gravy, or the breaded chicken, but holy moly. It’s the best chicken and waffles I’ve ever had.

IMG_20150502_125436086

Hash and eggs…good stuff.

IMG_20150502_180214945

Korean short ribs…in Colorado.

IMG_20150505_133409226_HDR

Wyoming sandwich!

IMG-20150503-WA0009

Typical sandwich, but those onion rings could have been giant bangles for my arm.

IMG_20150503_183147133

The only way to have a burger: Bacon, fried egg, BBQ sauce, and under it all were some mushrooms and cheese.

IMG_20150503_221302651_HDR

Random fruit – I have no idea what it is. I didn’t try it because it was like $5 and I had no idea how to open it, but if anyone knows, let me know!

IMG_20150505_152615588_HDR

I WANNA ICE CREAM! Square ice cream from Idaho, and it was so good. Fun shaped food just tastes better.

 

9 comments

    1. She gives you fried and roasted pork things and you want sushi?! Woman, you are fickle! 😉

      I want everything minus the onion rings, and two helpings of square ice cream to finish off. Ta.

      1. There were so many flavors of square ice cream!!! I wanted like twelve of them (but sadly I went with buttercream and chocolate chip cookie dough).

  1. Yummy! That green fruit looks like a cactus (prickly) pear. You need to handle them carefully and peel away the skin before eating.

Leave a Reply

