Life is a Highway, Part 21: Colorado National Monument

It wasn’t on my original itinerary, but it was right on my way back to Denver.  The Colorado National Monument in Fruita, CO was just a short stop off of the highway, along Rimrock drive.  While there are crazy trails down into the canyons, I had little time to do more than stop and look.  I was on my way to Grand Junction for the night, which was a must, but because I didn’t know what I’d do there besides dinner and sleep, I figured another national park wouldn’t be a bad idea.

The drive was a nice loop, and the scenery was, once again, breathtaking.

IMG_20150509_111452211

IMG_20150509_122136010

IMG_20150509_105206677

IMG_20150509_104116321-PANO

IMG_20150509_113827529_HDR-PANO

The only minor disappointment I had was that people had told me I was going to see longhorn sheep.  To my dismay, there weren’t any critters roaming around.  As a University of Rhode Island alumna, I was just a teeeeeny bit excited to see a sheep in its natural habitat.  We are the Rhode Island Rams, after all…but no dice.

5874_rhode_island_rams-wordmark-1989

Image from sportslogos.net

As short a stopoff as it was, it was still another reminder of the beauty in the west.  I felt a pang of sadness as I drove away, not only because my trip was almost over, but because of what I was going to be leaving behind when I returned east.

2 comments

Leave a Reply

