A Long December

I’m a few days late in writing this, but I suppose it’s better late than never.

This last year was mildly eventful, and my recap, once written out, looked like more than I remembered:

March
I turned 31.  I’m officially into my 30’s.  I think they should start digging a grave now…it’s all downhill from here 😦  When did I get so old?!

June
I quit my job at Yale, after 5 years.  It was bittersweet, and I’m lucky to still have friends there.  I miss them a lot.

img_20160610_065933

I started working for United Health, and moved to Dallas, Texas – the land of Pecan Lodge BBQ and Tacos y Mas.  You would not believe how attached you get to $1 crispy tacos until you don’t have them anymore.

img_20160702_153900img_20160712_134523  img_20160820_164048

My parents sold the house I grew up in and moved to Florida.  They owned it for 26 years, and it’s where some of my best memories are.  It was really, really hard to see that Sold sign.

img_20160508_162826016

My dad was diagnosed with lymphoma.  He’s undergoing treatment and is almost done, and will be moving back to Florida in March.
image000000_01

September
I celebrated two weddings on opposite sides of the country:  One in RI, one in WY, on back to back weekends.  I also taught my mom how to take a selfie. #mistakesweknewweweremaking

IMG_20160910_192352916.jpg

November
I packed up and moved to Washington.  We’ll see how it goes, but it’s really gorgeous when the sun is shining.

img_20170101_115857

This is the point in this blog entry where I usually write out my resolutions and lofty goals for the new year, instead of reflecting on how I did on last year’s stuff.  True to form, I am sure I failed at last year’s, and here are my lofty ones for this year:

I am going to blog more.  I promise.  I want to run a half marathon (my goals are getting more realistic).  I need to read more, and since I just found my Kindle, I will be able to.  I want to hike Mount Rainier and explore the national parks around me, and also eat my way through Vancouver, BC.

I have little challenges for myself for each month, like in January I need to run 100 miles, and in February I am going to try not to spend any money outside of bills and necessities.  Those will be fun, and anyone can do something for 30 days.

But my big, overarching resolution is to stay positive.  Surround myself only with people that are good for me, make me happy, and bring joy and kindness. I know it’s trite, but negativity is a poison and choosing to focus on the good is difficult – it’s something I know I need to work on.

Here is to a wonderful, happy, productive 2017 full of adventures and

8 thoughts on “A Long December

  1. Anna January 3, 2017 / 12:12 pm

    This is actually a MAJOR year, all put together like that. What happened to all your pretty beach-themed furniture? And honey, 30s arent the end of the world!

    • Jenna January 3, 2017 / 12:14 pm

      Beach furniture went to Florida, and I’ll apparently inherit it back someday. To go in my house in WA so I can remember what a REAL beach is 🙂

      • Anna January 3, 2017 / 2:57 pm

        Aww, no love for cold and rainy PacNW?

      • Jenna January 3, 2017 / 3:02 pm

        It’s actually biting cold and super bright out today. But the beaches here suck.

  2. Bryan January 3, 2017 / 1:11 pm

    Happy New Year! Have a wonderful 2017 full of great adventures.

    • Jenna January 3, 2017 / 1:44 pm

      Happy new year to you as well! 🙂

  3. freebutfun January 3, 2017 / 4:45 pm

    Cheers to staying positive in 2017!

    • Jenna January 3, 2017 / 4:47 pm

      Thanks! It’s going to be hard but I’m determined to try!

Leave a comment