This Is Where I Say I’ve Had Enough

I want to thank everyone for their empathy and encouragement. It’s nice to know people (who don’t know you personally) care, even if it’s just a simple “I’m sorry” that takes 10 seconds. It’s comforting, and helped.

I think my pity party has lasted long enough. A day or so of “Woe is me” is quite enough time to get over myself. And since my resume has been updated, I’ve begun sending it to friends and colleagues for either feedback, shameless promotion and/or delivery to HR departments, or otherwise.  There are few jobs online that look promising, especially since my experience level is far less than I wanted it to be when I left this past job, but them are the ropes.

I do think it was probably a bad idea for our friends to leave the dark chocolate covered pomegranate though…at this rate the entire bag will be gone, and I’ll be 5 lbs heavier.

At this point, I think it’s a blessing in disguise, in that I can now focus on finding a job that I will enjoy, at least a little more, and will pay a little more, so I’m not living paycheck to paycheck. It also affords me some time off to reflect on what I really want out of life. It’s forced PJ to be more responsible (to the point of year-long budgets laid out by color-coded spreadsheets, allowing for bills, vacation, racing, and other expenses), and me to really consider where my money goes, and what I do and don’t need. It’s dragging me into a new phase of life, and I think it’s a good thing.

Even if it sucks for now, it’s good to take a step back and just breathe.